Today, there are a few things you're going to want to know about how payments work on a Mighty Network before you dive in:
Plans are available to sell in multiple currencies
On the web and on the iOS app, plans are available in multiple currencies. On the iOS app, plans are available in the member's own currency based on their own iTunes account. To read more about how to add multiple currencies, check out this article.
We use Stripe as our payment processor
We don't support PayPal or other payment types directly in product just quite yet. You can read more about how to set up Stripe here.
Hosts Can Charge Up to $10,000 on Web
Hosts can charge any price they choose up to $10,000 per month or annually for Plans sold on the Web.
Selling on iOS requires that prices end in .99 cents and are limited to $999.99 or less. Hosts can choose to not sell Plans on iOS.
Free plans must be available for sale on the Web and iOS.
You can read more on how to set up plans here.
Other Frequently Asked Questions About Payments
Do I have to charge members for access to my Mighty Network?
No. You can make your Mighty Network public, private, or secret (and the same options apply to each Group or Course you create within your Network).
Can I sell Event tickets?
Not yet. The way that you will do this today is to put your Events in a Paid Group or Course and charge for that Group or Course.
Can I give someone the option to purchase a Course or Group without joining my overall Mighty Network?
No. A Mighty Network is structured so that everyone who is a member of a Group or Course within your Network must also be a member of the overall Network—it’s not possible to sell access to only one part of your Network or limit access to the main community. When you invite someone to purchase a Plan that includes access to a Course or Group, or you invite people directly into a Course or Group within your Mighty Network, they will automatically join the overall Network.
If a Member leaves my Mighty Network, can they access previously purchased content?
No. Once a Member leaves your Mighty Network, they won't be able to access content they purchased. They'll need to rejoin your Mighty Network to regain access. This is especially important to keep in mind for purchased Courses.
Can I set things up so my overall Mighty Network (or any Groups or Courses within the Network) be both paid *and* secret or private?
Not yet. Currently, our privacy and payment features are set up so that a paid Mighty Network (or a Paid Group or Course within your network) cannot also have privacy features enabled such that members would need to request access before they can join. Similarly, a Group or Course cannot be “secret” but also require payment to get in. We will be addressing this in a future release.
Can I limit who can buy access to my Mighty Network so that it’s only people I approve first?
Not yet. A workaround you can implement is keeping all of your Plans hidden (which means your Network or those individual Groups or Courses will show “Not available for purchase"). Then, you can set up a Typeform or Google Form to interview them and send the Share Link for that Plan to the people you’ve specifically approved to purchase that Plan.
Can I choose a price other than one from the dropdown list?
While we offer much more flexibility to charge any amount up to $10,000 on Web, if you choose to make your Plan available on iOS, the price of your Plan is limited to a dropdown list of prices ending in $0.99 increments with a max price of $999, which are constraints put in place by Apple.
If you want to charge over $10,000 on Web, or over $999 on iOS, you can use an external payment system.
Can I charge someone a one-time fee for access to something, then automatically move them to a monthly subscription after a certain date?
No. Each Plan you create is limited to one option of these three: a one-time purchase, a subscription purchase, or free. To do this, create separate Plans for your one-time purchase and your subscription.
Is it possible to have someone purchase at one price for the first three months, then automatically move them to a higher price at a later date?
No. This could be an extremely unpleasant surprise for someone. We currently don’t allow you to move someone to a higher-priced Plan without first completely removing them from that Plan and then asking them to actively purchase a new Plan at a different price.
Have a look at our documentation around how to change your prices or move members between Plans before you finalize your Plans.
When it's paid, will my Mighty Network and all the content within it be SEO optimized?
No, just your Mighty Network's Landing Page will be indexed by search engines. A paid Mighty Network has a paywall across it, meaning only people who have purchased a Plan can get access. This means the content and posts inside your Network are not visible to search engines for SEO purposes and non-members cannot see inside your Network.
How do I invite someone for free?
To invite someone to join your paid Mighty Network (or a paid Group or Course within your Network) for free, you’ll need to send that person a Share Link for a hidden free Plan. Here is a full tutorial for how to invite someone to a Plan for free.
When you invite someone to join directly from the Invite page or via an Invite Share Link as described here, this will only send them directly to the paywall for your Mighty Network (or a Group or Course within your Network). To invite someone for free, you must send them a link to join via a free Plan (that can be hidden).
I already have my members paying me through another platform, but I want to move them seamlessly over to my new Mighty Network without interrupting their payment schedule or asking them to pay again on the new platform. Is that possible?
Unfortunately, you can't start charging someone on a new platform without their opt-in and consent. They will need to sign up again and purchase a new subscription via the new Plans you create in your Mighty Network. We offer a recommendation for how to do that here.
We also offer an easy way to directly invite your existing members to join your new Mighty Network via bulk invites, as described here.
My members aren’t located in the United States, is it possible for them to purchase a Plan in their localized currency?
Yes. Any Plan you create in your Mighty Network is available to sell in multiple currencies. Within our iOS app, members will see the currency localized to match up to their location and phone settings. To read more about how to sell in multiple currencies, check out the article Selling in Multiple Currencies.
What are the transaction fees that Mighty Networks takes and how does it work?
If you do choose to use our payments feature, there is a small transaction fee that’s taken by Mighty Networks on every purchase. The fee for plans made on the Business Plan is 2%, Community Plan is 3%, and Free Trial is 5%. You can a further breakdown of the differences between subscription plans here see the breakdown here.
This amount does not get passed on to the member who is purchasing, it’s simply taken out of the amount you receive directly in your connected Stripe account or via Apple payouts. Our full documentation around how you get paid can be found here.
If I set up an external bundle plan that includes access to a course or group, in addition to membership, will existing members also be able to purchase access to that course or group?
Yes but you will also need to set up a separate internal plan in order for existing members to purchase access to the course or group.
Can I change the price or the type of billing (subscription versus one-time) after it has been submitted/approved? Can I add or remove courses or groups to the plan?
You cannot change the price or type of billing for a plan once it has been submitted/approved. You will need to create a new plan in these instances. You cannot remove courses or groups from a bundle and you cannot switch a plan from internal to external or vice versa.
You can change the free trial length, sales pitch, and benefits on a plan after it has been submitted/approved, and add additional courses and groups to a plan.
Can I duplicate a plan? Can I create an internal plan for a group, course or bundle at the same time that I create an external plan for that group, course or bundle?
Plans cannot currently be duplicated so we recommend opening a second browser window and copying and pasting the sales pitch and benefits from plan to another. Internal and External plans must be created separately.