What are Sections and Lessons in the Table of Contents?

Sections and Lessons are in the Table of Contents feature in a Space. They’re there to help you to organize your content whether it’s a resource library, Course or more!
You can fully rename the feature, learn more about how to manage features in a Space here.

Sections

You have three content types to work with:
Sections allow you to break up your content and organize similar materials in one place. Each Section serves as the mini overview for a specific part, and each section contains Lessons. You can create up to 500 Sections and/or Lessons within each Table of Contents feature you create in your Mighty Network.

Add a Section

When you first enable the feature, you'll see an empty Table of Contents page with the option to Add an Overview, Lesson, and/or Section.
To add a Section, go to Table of Contents > Add Section.
After you save a Section, you'll have the option to:
  • Add and/or Re-order Lessons
  • Make it Hidden or Visible
  • Add a Rule for Unlocking (based on finishing the Overview or another Lesson)
  • Add a Completion button
  • Edit the Thumbnail
  • Choose to Preview to visitors
You'll get to these options from Manage Section Settings for that Section.

Add a Section to an Existing Table of Contents

Once you have Lessons and Sections, you'll continue to add new Lessons and Sections for the Table of Contents at the bottom of the page:

Lessons

Lessons can stand alone or be organized into Sections. You can create up to 500 Sections and/or Lessons within each Space you create in your Mighty Network.

Add a Lesson

When you first create the Table of Contents feature, you’ll see the option to add a Lesson.
To add a Lesson, go to Table of Contents > Add Lesson
After you save a Lesson, you'll have the option to:
  • Make it Hidden or Visible
  • Add a Rule for Unlocking (based on finishing the Overview or another Lesson)
  • Add a Completion button
  • Change the Instructor
  • Edit the Thumbnail
  • Choose to Preview to visitors
You'll get to these options from Manage Lesson Settings for that Lesson.

Add a Lesson to an Existing Table of Contents

Once you have Lessons and Sections, you'll continue to add new Lessons and Sections from the Table of Contents at the bottom of the page:

Reorder Lessons and Sections

To learn how to reorder Lessons and Sections, check out the Article Can I Reorder and Duplicate Lessons and Sections?

Previewing Sections and Lessons

You have the option to preview any Sections or Lessons to show to members who are not a part of the Space.
Inside of the Lesson Settings, you can choose the option to Preview.
When member that is not a part of the Space and sees the Space page, they will see an icon that says "Preview."
When they click on it, they will be shown all of the content that you have selected to be shown as a preview.
Any of the Sections or Lessons that have a lock icon next to them, a member will be unable to see.
Screen_Shot_2022-12-01_at_12.40.58_PM.png
Updated January 2023

Was this article helpful?

Have more questions? Submit a request