All Collections
For Hosts
How Does the Table of Contents Work on Mighty Networks?
What are Sections and Lessons in the Table of Contents?
What are Sections and Lessons in the Table of Contents?
Updated this week

Sections and Lessons are in the Table of Contents feature in a Space. They’re there to help you to organize your content whether it’s a resource library, Course or more!

You can fully rename the feature, learn more about how to manage features in a Space here.

Sections

You have four content types to build your Course in the Table of Contents feature:

Sections allow you to break up your content and organize similar materials in one place. Each Section serves as the mini overview for a specific part, and each section contains Lessons. You can create up to 500 Sections and/or Lessons within each Table of Contents feature you create in your Mighty Network.

You can only create and edit content for your Table of Contents on web.

Add a Section

When you first enable the feature, you'll see an empty Table of Contents page with the option to Add an Overview, Lesson, and/or Section.

To add a Section, go to Table of Contents > Create > Add Section

After you save a Section, you'll have the option to:

  • Add and/or Re-order Lessons

  • Make it Hidden or Visible

  • Add a Rule for Unlocking (based on finishing the Overview or another Lesson)

  • Add a Completion button

  • Edit the Thumbnail

  • Choose to Preview to visitors

You'll get to these options from Manage Section Settings for that Section.

The Instructor(s) listed in the Sections will be updated when Instructors on the individual Lessons are updated.

Add Sections to an Existing Table of Contents

Add a new Section by scrolling to the bottom of the Table of Contents and clicking 'Create':

Figma create Section.png

Lessons

Lessons can stand alone or be organized into Sections. You can create up to 500 Sections and/or Lessons within each Space you create in your Mighty Network

.

Add a Lesson

When you first create the Table of Contents feature, you’ll see the option to add a Lesson.

To add a Lesson, go to Table of Contents > Add Lesson

After you save a Lesson, you'll have the option to:

  • Make it Hidden or Visible

  • Add a Rule for Unlocking (based on finishing the Overview or another Lesson)

  • Add a Completion button

  • Change the Instructor

  • Edit the Thumbnail

  • Choose to Preview to visitors

You'll get to these options from Manage Lesson Settings for that Lesson.

Display Style

On web and mobile, you can choose whether you would like your Table of Contents to display in a Simple View or in a Thumbnail View. To change the view go to the gear icon > Features > Table of Contents > Manage:

TOC_visuals_2.png

The thumbnail view will pull the default image for each Lesson, but you can easily change it to a custom thumbnail inside each of the Lesson settings:

TOC_visuals.png

To the left of each Lesson title, you'll see a three-line menu or a play icon:

The play icon signifies the Lesson contains at least one video. The three-line icon signifies a text-based Lesson.

If a Lesson containing a video displays three lines instead of a play button, this may be due to its Vimeo privacy setting being set to "Hide this video from Vimeo". If the video has standard Vimeo privacy settings, try deleting the video from the Lesson and then re-embedding it. This action may resolve the display issue.

To add a play icon to a Lesson manually, follow these steps:

  1. Go to the Lesson Settings.

  2. Scroll down to the Thumbnail section.

  3. Upload a custom thumbnail.

  4. Check the box labeled "Show Video Play Button."

This will override the default setting and display the play icon on your video Lesson.

Section Preferences

On the web and mobile, you can choose the default display of Sections - Expand All Sections or Expand Single Section.

Expand All Sections:

With this option, all Sections are expanded when a member opens the Table of Contents. This is a great way to give members a full view of all Lessons in the Table of Contents. As the member progresses through the TOC, completed Sections will collapse.

Expand Single Section:

This option is helpful if your Table of Contents has many Sections and you don’t want to overwhelm members by showing all Lessons and Quizzes at once. Here’s how this option works:

  • When a member first opens the Table of Contents, if the first Lesson or Quiz is in a Section, only that Section will be expanded. If the first Lesson or Quiz is not within a Section, all Sections will be collapsed.

  • Sections will expand based on a member’s progress through the Table of Contents, with only one Section expanded at a time, unless the member chooses to expand other Sections as well.

  • If the member is in-progress on a Quiz or Lesson that is not inside of a Section, then all Sections are collapsed, unless the member chooses to expand other Sections as well.

Hosts, moderators, and members also have access to an “Expand all” or “Collapse All” button which gives them the ability to expand or collapse all Table of Contents Sections. This button is only visible when there are Sections in the Table of Contents. This setting does not save across devices or between visits to the Table of Contents.

Add Lessons to an Existing Table of Contents

Once you have Lessons and Sections, you can add a Lesson to an existing Section by hovering over the Section title and clicking the + icon:

Figma Create from Section.png

Reorder Lessons and Sections

To learn how to reorder Lessons and Sections, check out the Article Can I Reorder and Duplicate Lessons and Sections?

Previewing Sections and Lessons

You have the option to preview any Sections or Lessons to show to members who are not a part of the Space.

Inside of the Lesson Settings, you can choose the option to Preview:

When a member that is not a part of the Space and sees the Space page, they will see an icon that says "Preview."

When they click on it, they will be shown all of the content that you have selected to be shown as a preview.

Any of the Sections or Lessons that have a lock icon next to them, a member will be unable to see.

Screen_Shot_2022-12-01_at_12.40.58_PM.png
Did this answer your question?