Can I Livestream from My Mighty Network?

As a Network Host on any Paid Plan, you can go live in any Space where you’re also a Space Host.
Mighty Pro and Path-to-Pro Plans allow for additional roles to go live in a Mighty Network. 
Any member will be able to join your livestream, if they have access to the Space. You can have up to nine people join onscreen for a livestream (including the Host). To learn more about multiple speakers on a livestream, check out this article. Livestreaming is available on the web, Android, and the iOS app.
On Android, viewers can minimize a livestream to perform other actions (in-app or externally), and still stay engaged through a picture-in-picture box. Coming to iOS in the future!

To learn how to schedule a livestream Event, check out "How Do I Schedule a Livestream Event?"

Start a Livestream

On the web, click the create menu and select "Go Live," If you have the Feed feature enabled, you can also go live from the Quick Post menu.

In the iOS and Android app, tap the "camera" icon in any Global Feature you have enabled.

In a Space, you can find the go live in three dot menu in the upper right corner.

When you go live on the web or mobile, you’ll be prompted to allow access to your camera and microphone.

Next, name your livestream and choose whether to notify members about the livestream and record it. You can also select whether or not you would like your video to be mirrored.

Screenshot_2023-05-09_at_3.52.04_PM.png

When you click the "Go Live Now" button, the livestream will prepare to start, then display a countdown before going live. If selected, notifications will be sent and recording of the live video will start immediately. Members will be able to easily view if multiple livestreams are happening simultaneously in your different Spaces.

Livestream Settings

Once you're live, you can change your livestream settings in the menu at the bottom of your screen on web and mobile.

The camera icon will allow you to change your camera source and blur your background.

The microphone icon will allow you to change your microphone source on the web, your speaker source and isolate your voice in noisy environments.

The gear icon will allow you to change your camera, microphone and choose whether or not you want to mirror your video.

Desktopgo live.png

To learn how to invite Speakers up to your livestream, check out this article

During a livestream, Space Hosts and moderators of the Space the livestream is held in will be able to delete any chat message.

To delete chat messages, hover over the message and select the trash icon.

livestream delete chat.png

Screen Sharing

When going live on desktop, you will see some options at the bottom of the screen during the livestream, including the ability to toggle your camera and/or microphone on and off and the option to Share Screen. Your own video will appear in the left corner of the screen for viewers as you screen share.
When choosing to share your screen, depending on your browser, you may then need to grant permission and/or choose what to Share (a specific window or the entire screen). Your screen is immediately shared with participants until the session ends or you click the “Stop Sharing” button. Screen sharing is not currently available on an iPad or on Safari. On mobile you can flip your camera to show a screen.
Note: Screen sharing on Safari does not work since there isn't a way to select the screen you would like to share. Please use Google Chrome as your web browser when conducting a livestream.
A note on sharing sound: If you screen share a tab on Chrome, you can share that tab’s audio, however all screen share options in other browsers will only share the video content. If you are using an External webcam and turn your computer sound up, it will pick up the sound. It will also pick it up if you just use your computer speaker and camera but not as well.

 

streaming_desktop_controls.png

 

Interested in learning more about how you can take your Livestream to the next level and add in special effects? Check out this article

Livestream Banner

When you go live, a banner will appear at the top of the . It will show the title, a livestream of the video, and a counter of the participants. The banner will remain at the top of the feed throughout the livestream. Clicking on it will open a flyout with the livestream.

Desktopgo_live.png

How to Join a Livestream as a Viewer

When you go live, any Host, Moderator, or member that has access to the Space where you are livestreaming can join by clicking the notification, if the Host chooses to send one, or they can click “Join Livestream” on the livestream banner at the top of the feed.

To leave the livestream, a participant can click the ‘Leave’ button in the top left corner.

Desktopgo_live.png

End a Livestream

On the web, in the upper left corner you’ll see an "End Livestream" button and a livestream timer. On the right, a panel includes the chat and a participant list in separate tabs. Livestream viewers will be able to type in the chat and have the option to toggle off the chat for themselves as well. The list of viewers will update in real-time.

If confirmed, viewers will see a message that the livestream has ended.

Screenshot_2023-05-10_at_3.26.55_PM.png

 

On mobile, you will see the livestream filling the screen. At the top of the screen there will be an “End” button, options to toggle your camera and/or microphone on and off, toggle off the chat, and the ability to switch between front and rear cameras. If using the rear camera, you’ll also have the option to toggle your device’s flashlight on and off.

At the bottom of the screen, you will see a viewer count icon and the chat bar. Tapping the icon will open a popup with the list of viewers. Chat messages will appear halfway up the screen before disappearing. You can scroll through the messages throughout the livestream.

Clicking the “End Livestream” button will not immediately end the live stream. A pop-up will display to confirm the action.

If confirmed, viewers will see a message that the livestream has ended.

 

Allowing Permissions as a Viewer

If you are viewing a livestream on mobile, you will see a pop-up to allow your camera and microphone to be connected to our livestream feature. This is in preparation for adding multiple speakers, which is a feature that our product team is currently working on. When you grant access, you will no longer see this pop-up.

If you would like to remove these permissions, check out the steps below:

iOS:

  1. On your iPhone or iPad open the Settings app.

  2. Scroll down and tap Privacy.

  3. Tap either Microphone, Camera, or Bluetooth.

  4. Next to the apps name, toggle the permissions switch on or off

Android:

  1. On your Android device, open the Chrome app .

  2. To the right of the address bar, tap More. Settings.

  3. Tap Site Settings.

  4. Tap Microphone or Camera.

  5. Tap to turn the microphone or camera on or off.Clicking the “End Livestream” button will not immediately end the live stream. A pop-up will display to confirm the action.

Check out these articles for more details on our Livestream Events:

Was this article helpful?