Mighty Networks supports chat conversations with up to 9 members, Private Chat messages and the Chat feature inside of Spaces.
Start a Private or Group Chat
To start a chat with one or more other members, click the chat icon in the upper right > click “+” to start a new chat > search for the names of the members you want to add > select the members > click “Start Chat”.
Once a chat is created, you can't add additional members. If you want to add new members to an existing group chat, you can start a new group chat with all previous and new members.
You can also start a chat with one other member by going to their profile and clicking "Chat".
You can at mention other members by typing the "@"symbol along with their name.
If you mention someone not in the Chat, there will be an error message shown that the member "will not be notified because they are not a member of this Chat."
This AI feature is available on Courses plans and up and can be found when you navigate to someone else’s profile. You and your members will see a prompt that says “Show Similarities”. Selecting that option will show the similarities between you and the other person.
Start a Conversation
This AI feature is available on Courses plans and up and is for you and your members. It will show when opening up a direct message or group chat with members you have never chatted with before. You will see the option to “Suggest a Conversation Starter”. Selecting that will show you a sample message to send based on your profiles and similarities. It will be in draft form and you can choose to send it, edit it or choose “Try Again” for a different suggestion.
Toggling off Chat
Network Hosts have the option to toggle off Private Chat for all members of the Mighty Network. If you choose that option, you and your members will see a notification that it has been turned off. You can find that option under Network Settings > Members > Member Communication called Private Chat.
Individual Private Chat Controls
You will see a new option under Network Settings > Members > Member Communication called Member Control of Private Chat. The default will be set to off, but turning it on will allow members, Hosts or moderators the option to decide if they want to receive direct messages or not.
If it’s toggled on, the member, Host, or Moderator will be able to visit their Personal Settings > Chat:
From there, they can toggle on or off Private Chat:
For private or group chats, you will see a number indicator in the upper right corner that you have new messages.
For the chat message inside of a Space, you and your members will receive a pop-up notification on web and mobile when there’s a new Space chat message. To learn more about notifications, check out this article.
You and your members can turn off this notification by selecting the three dot menu for the Space and choosing Mute Chat.
You and your members can turn off this notification for a specific Space by selecting the three dot menu for the Space and choosing Mute Chat. Or you can toggle off all Space Chat Messages by going to Personal Settings > Notifications > Space Chat Messages.
Existing Chat Conversations
In the mobile apps, tap the chat icon to open your chat list, where you can access previous conversations and start new ones. On the web, click the chat icon in the upper right corner to see a list of your existing chats.
You can search for existing chat conversations from within a chat. By typing a name into the search bar, you'll see any relevant member names appear along with a text preview of the associated conversation. You can do this on both web and mobile through the chat conversation search bar at the top of the chat list.
Archiving Chat Conversations
Archiving a chat conversation will hide the conversation from your chat list. However, the chat will reappear in the list if another member adds a message to the conversation.
If you archive a chat and want to unarchive it, you can do so by recreating the conversation with the same people. Create a new chat, add the members, and when you click “Start Chat” the conversation will pick up where you left off.
If the archived conversation is with just one other person, you can also unarchive it by navigating to their profile and clicking “Chat.”
To learn about blocking and muting in a chat conversation, check out the article "Can Members of My Mighty Network Block and Mute each other from Chats?"
If someone creates a Group Chat and any of the participants are removed from the network, any Group Chat that the removed participant was in will be archived.
Modifying How Private Chat Messages Are Sent
You have the flexibility to choose how you'd like your private chat messages to send - press the 'Enter' key on your keyboard or click a designated 'Send' button.
Here's how you can make this adjustment:
- Click the chat icon in the upper right corner of your profile.
- Click the three-dot icon.
- Toggle on or off 'Show Send Button':
Updated August 2023