The benefit of SSO is a unified member experience between a Mighty Network and your external website or service, and it moves member account management and profile settings externally.
For this reason, it’s also a feature that requires you to have an established external service and an experienced technical team to ensure everything works smoothly.
The most important thing to keep in mind when you choose to enable SSO in your Mighty Network is that it will bypass and override all privacy options available on Mighty.
Only members with a valid login through your existing external website or setup will be able to access your entire community, and only a Sign In button will be visible on your Mighty Network’s landing page.
This also means that all of the posts and pages within your Mighty Network will not be publicly visible to non-members, and those pages will not be indexed by search engines.
Ready to proceed? Please share this SSO implementation guide with your technical team.
Is there a way for my technical team to test the integration before enabling it on my main Mighty Network?
Yes, in fact we definitely recommend it. Full details are available in our SSO implementation guide.
What happens if I enable SSO, then decide later to disable it?
Disabling SSO will change your Mighty Network to Private, and member accounts created while SSO was enabled will need to sign in with a Magic Link, then set up a password.
What happens to SSO if I downgrade my Business plan?
Mighty Networks that downgrade will behave the same as Networks that disable SSO (as outlined above).
What happens if I get locked out of my Network?
After you have finished setting up SSO, you will receive a Host backdoor URL. You will be able to access your Network with that link if SSO is broken.
Updated January 2024