As a Network Host on any Paid Plan, you can go live in the main Network, or any Group or Course where you’re also a Host. Any member of the Network, Group, or Course will be able to join your livestream. Only one Host can go live at a time in the Network, or in each Group or Course.
Livestreaming is available on the web, Android, and the iOS app.
New to Livestreaming? Here are some time-tested tips and tricks!
Start a Livestream
On the web, click the create menu and select "Go Live," or click in the box above the feed and choose the video icon.
You can also select the "+" icon and Go Live:
In the iOS and Android app, tap the "Go Live" button above the feed.
When you go live on the web or mobile, you’ll be prompted to allow access to your camera and microphone. Next, name your livestream and choose whether to notify members about the livestream and record it.
Once you click the "Go Live Now" button, the livestream will prepare to start, then display a countdown before going live. If selected, notifications will be sent and recording of the live video will start immediately. Members will be able to easily view if multiple livestreams are happening simultaneously in your Network (for example, one in the main Network and one in a Course).
On the web, you will see the livestream on the left. In the upper left corner you’ll see an "End Livestream" button and a livestream timer. On the right, a panel includes the chat and a participant list in separate tabs. Livestream viewers will be able to type in the chat and have the option to toggle off the chat for themselves as well. The list of viewers will update in real-time.
On mobile, you will see the livestream filling the screen. At the top of the screen there will be an “End” button, options to toggle your camera and/or microphone on and off, toggle off the chat, and the ability to switch between front and rear cameras. If using the rear camera, you’ll also have the option to toggle your device’s flashlight on and off.
At the bottom of the screen, you will see a viewer count icon and the chat bar. Tapping the icon will open a popup with the list of viewers. Chat messages will appear halfway up the screen before disappearing. You can scroll through the messages throughout the livestream.
When going live on desktop, you will see some options at the bottom of the screen during the livestream, including the ability to toggle your camera and/or microphone on and off and the option to Share Screen.
When choosing to share your screen, depending on your browser, you may then need to grant permission and/or choose what to Share (a specific window or the entire screen). Your screen is immediately shared with participants until the session ends or you click the “Stop Sharing” button.
Note: If you screen share a tab on Chrome, you can share that tab’s audio, however all screen share options in other browsers will only share the video content.
When you go live, a banner will appear at the top of the feed in the Network, Group, or Course where you are livestreaming. It will show the title, a livestream of the video, and a counter of the participants. The banner will remain at the top of the feed throughout the livestream. Clicking on it will open a flyout with the livestream.
How to Join a Livestream as a Viewer
When you go live, any Host, Moderator, or member in the Network, Course, or Group where you are livestreaming can join by clicking the notification, if the Host chooses to send one, or they can click “Join” on the livestream banner at the top of the feed.
To leave the livestream, a participant can click the ‘Leave’ button in the top left corner.
End a Livestream
Clicking the “End Livestream” button will immediately end the livestream and viewers will see a message that the livestream has ended.
If you chose to record your livestream, the recording will be available in your Livestream Recordings on web. You will receive an email and in-app notification when it’s ready. The recording will only be available in the account of the Network Host that went live.
You will have the option to download the recording, delete it, or create an Article with the recording to share with your Mighty Network.
Once the video uploads, you will have the option to add a thumbnail image for the video in the upper right corner
Need more Livestreaming Hours?
If you’re looking to get more livestreaming hours or support more viewers, click here to learn about Engagement Boosts.
Do I have to create an Event or can I just Go Live?
You can do both! You can spontaneously go live inside of your Mighty Network, or you can also use the “Live Video” link in Events and schedule it. The link should point to the Space your Livestream will live (eg. your main Activity Feed, or a Group/Course Activity Feed if that's where you're going live.) Check out this article for step-by-step instructions.
If you decide to go live inside your Mighty Networks and schedule it as an Event, note that when your Event starts and you see the "Live" indicator pop up next to Events in the left-hand navigation bar, this indicator won't automatically take your Members to the Livestream. Your Members will still need to navigate to the Space that your Livestream will live. They can do this by clicking the link you include in the Event, or by manually visiting the Space Activity Feed.
Are the chats during Livestreams saved?
Chats during Livestreams are not currently saved but we will be adding this in the near future. You can also copy and paste the chat into a document in the meantime.
Are Livestreams recorded?
Yes, you can select to record them and the replay will be posted in your Livestream Recordings.
Can I hide the chat?
Not at this time, but we will be adding this in the future.
How fast does my (or my Members') internet need to be for a good Livestream experience?
For broadcasting, we recommend high-speed internet (2 Mbps or more is ideal). For viewing, we use adaptive streaming, which will adjust your video quality based on your available internet bandwidth. For more on bandwidth requirements, you can check out this article from Chime, the platform our Livestreaming feature builds on.
Can Livestream recordings be downloaded?
Yes, you can go to your Livestream Recordings, click on the more menu in the recording and download it or delete it.
Can I Go Live in a Group or Course?
Yes! You can go live inside of your main Network, Group or Course.
Why isn't my camera or microphone working in Google Chrome on my computer?
It may be a permissions issue in your browser. Try following these support instructions to get you back on track.
Can multiple Network Hosts Go Live at the same time?
Yes, Network Hosts can go live at the same time in different Spaces.
Why do Articles need to be enabled to record Livestreams?
Livestream recordings are saved in an Article draft for the Host to review before publishing, so Articles must be enabled for the area of the Network in which you’re Livestreaming (Homepage, Groups or Courses).
Are closed captioning and playback speeds available?
Not at this time but we will be adding these features soon. We recommend using the Live Chrome extension for live captioning. You can also embed videos from other services like YouTube, Vimeo, and more.
Why don’t I see the “Go Live” button available at the top of my Network’s Homepage, Group, or Course?
The Activity Feed feature must be turned on for the area of the Network in which you want to Go Live. Additionally, only Network Hosts (and in the case of a Group or Course, Network Hosts that are also Hosts for that Group of Course) can currently Go Live.
What happens if a Livestream is interrupted due to connectivity issues?
There will be a five minute grace period on the Livestream if the Host’s connection goes down or if the app or browser is accidentally closed.
The livestream will continue if the Host is able to reconnect within 5 minutes. After that, the broadcast will be automatically stopped.
What is the maximum length of a livestream?
Can non-Network members participate in a Livestream’s chat?
Non-Network members on a Public Mighty Network will be able to see the silent Homepage preview but will need to sign up to participate and view the Livestream.
How do I get more storage and livestream hours?
You can visit Network Settings > Your Plan to add more storage and livestream hours.