As a Network Host on any Paid Plan, you can go live in the main Network, or any Group or Course where you’re also a Host. Any member of the Network, Group, or Course will be able to join your livestream. Only one Host can go live at a time in the Network, or in each Group or Course.
Livestreaming is available on the web and iOS app. You can view the livestream on the Android app.
Start a Livestream
On the web, click the create menu and select "Go Live," or click in the box above the feed and choose the video icon.
You can also select the "+" icon and Go Live:
In the iOS app, tap the "Go Live" button above the feed.
When you go live on the web or iOS, you’ll be prompted to allow access to your camera and microphone. Next, name your livestream and choose whether to notify members about the livestream and record it.
Once you click the "Go Live Now" button, the livestream will prepare to start, then display a countdown before going live. If selected, notifications will be sent and recording of the live video will start immediately.
On the web, you will see the livestream on the left. In the upper left corner you’ll see an "End Livestream" button and a livestream timer. On the right, a panel includes the chat and a participant list in separate tabs. Livestream viewers will be able to type in the chat. The list of viewers will update in real-time.
On iOS, you will see the livestream and at the top of the screen, there will be an “End Livestream” button and options to select your camera and turn on the camera flash. At the bottom of the screen, you will see a viewer count icon and chat bar. Tapping the icon will open a popup with the list of viewers. Chat messages will appear halfway up the screen before disappearing. You can scroll through the messages throughout the livestream.
When you go live, a banner will appear at the top of the feed in the Network, Group, or Course where you are livestreaming. It will show the title, a livestream of the video, and a counter of the participants. The banner will remain at the top of the feed throughout the livestream. Clicking on it will open a flyout with the livestream.
How to Join a Livestream as a Viewer
When you go live, any Host, Moderator, or member in the Network, Course, or Group where you are livestreaming can join by clicking the notification, if the Host chooses to send one, or they can click “Join” on the livestream banner at the top of the feed.
To leave the livestream, a participant can click the ‘Leave’ button in the top left corner.
End a Livestream
Clicking the “End Livestream” button will immediately end the livestream and viewers will see a message that the livestream has ended.
If you chose to record your livestream, the recording will be available in an Article draft with the livestream title on the web and iOS. You will receive an email and in-app notification when it’s ready and clicking the notification will open the Article draft.
The livestream recording will have a default cover image, which you can change by clicking the thumbnail icon in the top right corner of the recording. On iOS, any edits to the Article must be published immediately or they will be lost (the Article cannot be re-saved as a draft).
Need more Livestreaming Hours?
If you’re looking to get more livestreaming hours or support more viewers, click here to learn about Engagement Boosts.
Do I have to create an Event or can I just Go Live?
You can do both! You can spontaneously go live inside of your Mighty Network, or you can also use the “Live Video” link in Events and schedule it. Check out this article for step-by-step instructions.
Are the chats during Livestreams saved?
Chats during Livestreams are not currently saved but we will be adding this in the near future. You can also copy and paste the chat into a document in the meantime.
Are Livestreams recorded?
Yes, you can select to record them and the replay will be posted in an Article draft.
Can I hide the chat?
Not at this time, but we will be adding this in the future.
Can Livestream recordings be downloaded?
Livestream recordings cannot currently be downloaded, but a Livestream recording be played within an Article on the Network if the Host decides to share it.
Can I Go Live in a Group or Course?
Yes! You can go live inside of your main Network, Group or Course.
Why isn't my camera or microphone working in Google Chrome on my computer?
It may be a permissions issue in your browser. Try following these support instructions to get you back on track.
Can multiple Network Hosts Go Live at the same time?
Yes, Network Hosts can go live at the same time in different Spaces.
Why do Articles need to be enabled to record Livestreams?
Livestream recordings are saved in an Article draft for the Host to review before publishing, so Articles must be enabled for the area of the Network in which you’re Livestreaming (Homepage, Groups or Courses).
Are closed captioning and playback speeds available?
Not at this time but we will be adding these features soon. We recommend using the Live Chrome extension for live captioning. You can also embed videos from other services like Youtube, Vimeo, and more.
Why don’t I see the “Go Live” button available at the top of my Network’s Homepage, Group, or Course?
The Activity Feed feature must be turned on for the area of the Network in which you want to Go Live. Additionally, only Network Hosts (and in the case of a Group or Course, Network Hosts that are also Hosts for that Group of Course) can currently Go Live.
What happens if a Livestream is interrupted due to connectivity issues?
There will be a five minute grace period on the Livestream if the Host’s connection goes down or if the app or browser is accidentally closed.
The livestream will continue if the Host is able to reconnect within 5 minutes. After that, the broadcast will be automatically stopped.
What is the maximum length of a livestream?
Can non-Network members participate in a Livestream’s chat?
Non-Network members on a Public Mighty Network will be able to see the silent Homepage preview but will need to sign up to participate and view the Livestream.
How do I get more storage and livestream hours?
You can visit Network Settings > Your Plan to add more storage and livestream hours.