When you're creating or managing Lessons within a Table of Contents feature, you'll see unlocking and completion settings available for each Lesson.
To edit or change the unlocking or completion features for a particular Lesson, just go to Manage Lesson Settings for that Lesson:
To change the Unlock Settings for multiple Lessons at once, hover your cursor over a Lesson and tick the box to the left. You'll then see the option to select multiple Lessons or Select All.
Note: If Overviews are selected, you won't have the option to bulk-change Unlock Settings (these apply to Lessons only).
Once you've selected the Lessons you'd like to update, you can choose 'Make Visible', 'Make Hidden', 'Unlock Settings', 'Edit Thumbnail', 'Turn Preview On', 'Turn Preview Off', 'Delete':
Unlocking Features for Lessons
These are all of the unlocking features available with our Table of Contents feature currently:
None - The Lesson will be unlocked as soon as the member begins.
Sequential - The Lesson will unlock immediately after the previous Lesson is completed by the member.
Timed - The Lesson will unlock a specific number of days after the member starts the first Lesson. It will unlock at the exact time the member started the first lesson (ie: if the member completed the previous lesson at 12pm, then the next lesson will unlock at 12pm). The member will be notified when new material becomes unlocked for them. This feature is dependent on when the Member joins. If a new Lesson/Section is added after a Member has joined, then there will be a fresh timer. For example, if Member A has joined for 7 days, and on day 7 the Host adds a new Lesson/Section that is timed to unlock after 10 days, Member A would still have a 10-day timer.
Scheduled - The Lesson will unlock on a specific date and time:
Note: Any unlocking changes will apply for both existing members and new members who've joined after the change.
What Does A Locked Lesson Look Like for Members?
When a Table of Contents is set to Thumbnail View, Lesson thumbnails appear greyed out to members until the Lesson unlocks:
A completed Lesson appears greyed out with a green check mark for members.
The next Lesson to begin will show a full-color thumbnail and a green, unticked box.
When a Table of Contents is set to Simple View, locked Lessons appear with a lock icon and are greyed out for members until the Lesson unlocks:
For Scheduled and Timed Unlock, you have the option of whether or not you would like to notify your members that new material is available. By default, the Unlock Notification toggle is set to notify.
- When the toggle is ON the members of the Space will receive a notification when that Lesson/Section is unlocked
- When the toggle is OFF the members of the Space will not receive a notification when that Lesson/Section is unlocked
The toggle will be greyed out for all other unlocking options.
If you would like your members to be able to reset their progress, you can toggle on this by going to the gear icon in the Space > Features > Table of Contents > Reset Progress. The feature is off by default.
When this is toggled on, members will be able to select the three dot menu in the “Next Up” card to “Reset Progress”. This option will show on web and mobile.
A modal will pop up asking them if they want to reset their progress. As a note, they will lose their current Course Material progress and Quiz attempts. Previously locked content may become locked again.
Once a member resets their progress, you won't be able to see previous progress in Lessons. You will be able to see previous Quiz attempts via the CSV download.
Completion Tracking Features for Lessons
These are the completion tracking features available today for Lessons:
Visited Completion - A member must visit this Lesson to complete it.
Button Completion - A member must click the “Mark as Complete” button at the bottom of the Lesson to complete it.
Note: If you have the unlocking option set to "None" members won't be required to click "Mark as Complete" in order to move to the next Lesson. If you would like it to be required, you will need to use the "Sequential" unlocking option.
Video Completion - Students must finish watching the entire tracked video in the Lesson in order for the Lesson to count as complete. You can either add MP4 videos directly or embed a video from YouTube. Loom, Vimeo, and Wistia cannot be tracked. You can only have one tracked video per Lesson, but you can choose which video you want to track by selecting the timer icon in the upper right corner.
Resetting a member's progress in completed Lessons within a Table of Contents is not possible.
Measuring Completion Rates for Members
If you have completion tracking turned on in your Mighty Network, you can see at-a-glance the completion rate (as a percentage) for each member of your Space by going to Space Settings > Members > Member List.
From here, you can sort by completion rate and see the last Lesson or Quiz viewed, as well as the last Lesson or Quiz completed.
Completion tracking data (including % complete, last Lesson viewed, and last Lesson completed) is also available in the downloadable Space member list. You will also be able to see that at-a-glance completion data in the Members feature if turned on in a Space.
Additional Help Center resources:
How Do I Generate Completion Certificates Using Zapier?
Updated August 2023