If you have payments enabled in your Mighty Network and at least one of your Plans available to purchase as a subscription Plan, your Members will have a card on file that will be charged whenever their monthly or annual subscription automatically renews. In addition, your Member will receive an email notification 3 days before their subscription is up for renewal:
If someone's card expires or is no longer processing payment, their membership enters into a past due state. But don't worry, our system will automatically prompt them to update their card during a designated grace period. You don't need to chase them down for payment! Keep reading for more about how that all works.
How Past-Due Members Are Prompted to Update Their Card Details
As soon as someone's payment fails to go through, a grace period begins. During the grace period, the following actions will happen:
- The Member will move into "Past Due" state, and this will be visible next to their name in Payments > Your Plans within the Plan they are on.
- When the Member is signed in, they will see a banner along the bottom of the screen that prompts them to update their card details during the grace period. The prompt points them directly to the place where they can update their card.
For those who purchased a Plan originally on the web (and their payment is processed through your Stripe account), there is a 7-day grace period. The same is true for members that are on a Free Trial of a Plan. These actions will happen during the grace period:
- If they do not update their card details during the grace period, Mighty Networks will automatically send 3 email notifications to the member prompting them to update their card details over the course of 7 days. We use machine learning algorithms to determine the best times for sending these emails throughout the grace period.
- After the first failed payment, Mighty Networks (via your Stripe account) will automatically retry payment one day after the first failed payment, then every two days again until hitting day 7.
For those who purchased originally on an iOS device, there is a 16-day grace period and Apple automatically handles all billing notifications through the App Store.
What Happens When a Past-Due Payment Goes Through?
As soon as the Member updates their card details and the charge goes through, their next billing date will not change—it will remain the same as their original billing date.
What Happens When a Past-Due Payment Doesn't Go Through?
If a member does not update their card details during the grace period, they will lose access to the Plan on day 7. If they want to regain access at any point in the future, they will need to purchase a new Plan and update their card details in the process.
What Happens When a Past-Due Member Cancels Their Plan?
If a member chooses to cancel their Plan while in a past due state, the cancellation will take place immediately and they will lose access to that Plan.
What Does Pending Payment Mean?
This could mean that members created an account and abandoned their cart before purchase. It could also be that they have Strong Customer Authentication (SCA)enabled on their card. They will need to contact their bank for approval.
In this age of fraud and higher levels of security, some credit card companies require verification of a new purchase. If a member has a SCA (Strong Customer Authentication) Card, they will need to verify the purchase before their card is charged.
What is SCA?
Strong Customer Authentication (SCA) is a European regulatory requirement to reduce fraud and make online and contactless offline payments more secure. SCA requirements are set out in the Regulatory Technical Standards or RTS. Banks must decline payments that require SCA and don’t meet these criteria.
When is Strong Customer Authentication required?
Strong Customer Authentication is required for new card purchases online. A Plan renewal doesn't required for authentication.
What Happens When You Move a Member and Their Payment Fails?
If you move a member to a Paid Plan and the payment fails, the member will receive an email, in-app and mobile push notification (if enabled):
“Action Required: Your Host switched your Plan but payment didn't process so you need to update billing info ASAP and then you will be refunded and moved.”
The member will have 7 days to update their billing information before the Plan move is canceled.
You as the Host will receive an email, in-app and mobile push notification (if enabled) that the move hasn’t happened yet because the member needs to update their billing information.
“Member Name needs to update their billing information for (Plan Name). Once their billing information is updated, they will be subscribed to (New Plan Name).”
If you moved the member to a new Plan and SCA verification is required, the member will receive an email, in-app and mobile push notification (if enabled):
“Action Required: Please verify your billing information for your move to New Plan Name. Once your billing information is verified you will be subscribed to (New Plan Name)”
If the move is canceled, you as the Host, will receive an email, in-app and mobile push (if enabled) that the member’s payment failed and the Plan move was canceled.
If you moved the member at the end of their billing date cycle, and they still do not update their payment information, then they will have an additional 7 days on their previous Plan to update their card information. This will be a total of 14 day grace period.
Updated August 2023