How Do I Move Members Between Plans in My Mighty Network?

You may want to move your members from a free plan to a paid plan in your Mighty Network (or alternatively, from a paid plan to a free plan). Here are some ways to accomplish that!

Moving a Member from a Free Plan to a Paid Plan

First, you will want to create an External paid plan for new members so that future members will be set up to pay for membership to your Mighty Network. 

Next, you will want to hide the existing free plan so that new members won’t be able to find it. 

Then, create an Internal plan with access to a Group or Course at the same price as the new External paid plan. You can then ask all members who are currently on the free plan in your Mighty Network to purchase this new Internal Plan in order to stay in your Mighty Network. The best way to do so, is to send them a direct link to purchase the plan

Finally, post an announcement letting existing members know that if they do not purchase the new Internal plan by a particular date, then they will be removed from your Mighty Network. This will ensure that you can charge new members access to your Mighty Network, while converting your existing members to a paid plan.

If you are looking for other options, feel free to reach out to Host Help inside your Mighty Network or send us a note and our team can talk you through them.

Moving a Member from a Paid Plan to a Free Plan

If you want to move a member from a paid plan to a free plan, keep these conditions in mind:

  • The new plan must be free.
  • The new plan must be targeted at the same audience (either an Internal Audience or an External Audience). Go here to learn more about how these two options differ.

Then, as soon as you move them to the new plan, the following will happen:

  • The member will have their existing subscription canceled effective on the next billing date.
  • An email notification will be sent to the member informing them that their plan has changed.

Moving a Member from a Paid Plan to another Paid Plan

  • The new plan must be at the same price or at a lower price.
  • The new plan must have the same interval option. For example, if the member is on a monthly subscription, you must move them to a plan that also has a monthly subscription option.
  • The member will be moved to the same interval payment (monthly or annual) as their previous plan.
  • The new plan must be targeted at the same audience (either an Internal Audience or an External Audience). Go here to learn more about how these two options differ.

Then, as soon as you move them to the new plan, the following will happen:

  • The member will have their existing subscription canceled effective on the next billing date.
  • The member will start their subscription on the new plan at the end of the billing period for their current subscription.
  • An email notification will be sent to the member informing them that their plan has changed.

To move someone from one plan to another, just go to Network Settings > Payments > Plans and select the plan they are currently on. Under the Plan Members tab, you'll see the list of members currently on that plan.

From here, you can use the three dot menu next to someone's information to move them to another plan. Just select the option that says "Move to Plan." 

move_members.png

If you have more questions and you can't find the answer in our Help Center, just send us a note and we'll get back to you as quickly as we can!

Updated July 2022

Was this article helpful?

Have more questions? Submit a request