Set Up Member Subscriptions

With a Mighty Network, you can create a community and get paid as the Host with monthly or annual member subscriptions.

Member subscriptions are a recurring membership fee that new members can purchase either monthly or annually. Today we only support one monthly and one annual payment option. The option to turn on member subscriptions comes with each Mighty Network Pricing Plan.

Free trials. If you want to give new members the ability to try out or explore your Mighty Network before they start paying the membership fee, you have the option to turn on a free trial that lasts anywhere from 3 days to 1 month. As the Host, you decide on the length of the free trial you offer your members.

"Always free" members. You can also invite members for free via the Invite page. Look for the checkbox to invite member for free underneath the Invite by Email option. This is not a free trial, and members invited with this option will never be charged. 


How to Enable Member Subscriptions

With member subscriptions, your members will be able purchase a subscription plan from you on the web, on the iOS app, or on the Android app.

To enable member subscriptions, go to Host Management > Get Paid and follow the steps to enable subscriptions. 

Here's a quick overview of the key steps:

First, you'll pick your prices and decide on whether you want to offer members a free trial. Then, you'll set up an account with Stripe, our 3rd party payment processor. After setting up your Stripe account, you’ll come back to Member Subscriptions, where we’ll confirm that you’ve successfully connected your accounts.

subscriptions.jpg

Approval of Plans by Apple

After you've set up your first subscription plans, Apple requires us (and therefore you) to get approval for your new member subscriptions. This process typically takes 7 days, so give yourself some time between submitting your member subscriptions and their approval. 

Here's what happens in the review:

  • After you submit your plans the very first time, you won’t be able to edit them without resubmitting and starting the approval process over again. Therefore, it's a good idea to get this right. 
  • When you set up your plans, you can decide to have them go live automatically as soon as they are approved or manually decide when to turn the member subscriptions feature on. If you choose the manual option, we'll send you a message when your plans are ready, so you can decide to turn them on.
  • If you have plans that are pending approval, you’ll see this noted in Host Management > Get Paid.  


Once Your Member Subscriptions are Enabled

Once your member subscriptions are enabled, only new members will be prompted to pay when they join on the web, on the iOS app, or on the Android app

Existing members will not be prompted to pay. There isn't yet a way for existing members to be automatically charged once you've turned on subscriptions, but they can choose to begin paying the monthly or annual fee by changing their subscription on their own and adding a credit card to their account.


Two Important Notes on Stripe

First, you will need to set up a separate Stripe account for each Mighty Network for which you want to enable member subscriptions, so keep that in mind if you have more than one Mighty Network with subscriptions turned on.

Second, if you deactivate member subscriptions at any point and then decide to re-enable subscriptions again in the future, you’ll need to connect a new Stripe account when you set member subscriptions up a second time. You will not be able to use the same Stripe account that you used the first time you set up member subscriptions.


Deactivating Member Subscriptions

To deactivate member subscriptions in your Mighty Network, just go to Host Management > Get Paid and disable the feature.

One important note about deactivating subscriptions. If you disable subscriptions at any point and then decide to re-enable subscriptions again in the future, you’ll need to connect a new Stripe account when you set them up a second time. You will not be able to use the same Stripe account that you used the first time you set up member subscriptions.