Start a Chat Conversation
To start a chat with one or more other members, click the chat icon in the upper right and click “+” to start a new chat, then search for the names of the members you want to add, select them, and click “Start Chat”. Once a chat has been created, you cannot add new members to it. You will need to start a new chat.
You can also start a chat with one other member by going to their profile and clicking “Say Hello”.
Existing Chat Conversations
In the mobile apps, tap the chat icon to open your chat list, where you can access previous conversations and start new ones. On the web, click the chat icon in the upper right corner to see a list of your existing chats.
You can search for existing chat conversations from within a chat. By typing a name into the search bar, you'll see any relevant member names appear along with a text preview of the associated conversation. You can do this on both web and mobile through the chat conversation search bar at the top of the chat list.
Archiving Chat Conversations
Archiving a chat conversation will hide the conversation from your chat list. However, the chat will reappear in the list if another member adds a message to the conversation.
If you archive a chat and want to unarchive it, you can do so by recreating the conversation with the same people. Create a new chat, add the members, and when you click “Start Chat” the conversation will pick up where you left off.
If the archived conversation is with just one other person, you can also unarchive it by navigating to their profile and clicking “Say Hello.”
Blocking Members & Muting Chat Conversations
If you want to block a member through chat, in the chat window with the member, click the three-dot menu then choose the option to block the member. When you block a member, you will no longer receive notifications or 1-to-1 messages from this member. You also won’t see their posts in your Activity Feed. You can read more about blocking a member here.
Members will receive notifications for chats if they have the setting turned on in their personal settings. They can also mute notifications for a specific chat conversation.
Updated July 2022