Mighty Networks supports chat conversations with up to 9 members, Private Chat messages and the Chat feature inside of Spaces.
Start a Private or Group Chat
To start a chat with one or more other members, click the chat icon in the upper right and click “+” to start a new chat, then search for the names of the members you want to add, select them, and click “Start Chat”. Once a chat has been created, you cannot add new members to it. You will need to start a new chat.
You can also start a chat with one other member by going to their profile and clicking "Chat".
Network Hosts have the option to toggle off Private Chat for all members of the Mighty Network. If you choose that option, you and your members will see a notification that it has been turned off. You can find that option under Network Settings > Members > Member Communication called Private Chat.
Individual Private Chat Controls
You will also see an option called Member Control of Private Chat. The default will be set to off, but turning it on will allow members, Hosts or moderators the option to decide if they want to receive direct messages or not.
You will see a new option under Network Settings > Members > Member Communication called Member Control of Private Chat. The default will be set to off, but turning it on will allow members, Hosts or moderators the option to decide if they want to receive direct messages or not.
If it’s toggled on, the member, Host, or moderator will be able to first visit their Personal Settings > Chat.
From there, they can toggle on or off Private Chat.
For private or group chats, you will see a number indicator in the upper right corner that you have new messages.
For the chat message inside of a Space, you and your members will receive a pop-up notification on web and mobile when there’s a new Space chat message. To learn more about notifications, check out this article.
You and your members can turn off this notification by selecting the three dot menu for the Space and choosing Mute Chat.
You and your members can turn off this notification for a specific Space by selecting the three dot menu for the Space and choosing Mute Chat. Or you can toggle off all Space Chat Messages by going to Personal Settings > Notifications > Space Chat Messages.
Existing Chat Conversations
In the mobile apps, tap the chat icon to open your chat list, where you can access previous conversations and start new ones. On the web, click the chat icon in the upper right corner to see a list of your existing chats.
You can search for existing chat conversations from within a chat. By typing a name into the search bar, you'll see any relevant member names appear along with a text preview of the associated conversation. You can do this on both web and mobile through the chat conversation search bar at the top of the chat list.
Archiving Chat Conversations
Archiving a chat conversation will hide the conversation from your chat list. However, the chat will reappear in the list if another member adds a message to the conversation.
If you archive a chat and want to unarchive it, you can do so by recreating the conversation with the same people. Create a new chat, add the members, and when you click “Start Chat” the conversation will pick up where you left off.
If the archived conversation is with just one other person, you can also unarchive it by navigating to their profile and clicking “Chat.”
To learn about blocking and muting in a chat conversation, check out the article "Can Members of My Mighty Network Block and Mute each other from Chats?"
If someone creates a Group Chat and any of the participants are removed from the network, any Group Chat that the removed participant was in will be archived.
Updated December 2022